Testimonials

***** Going to build a Boat!, March 21, 2011

By   M. Derr  

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)   

I am delighted with this book and am planning on building a boat to enter in the "2011 Small Ships Review" event which takes place in June every year on the river by the QSL restaurant in Sharon Pa.   

I love that the boat will not weigh a ton, and that the author claims fifteen year olds have made them with little guidance from adults (my kind of project!).   

The information in the book is written very clearly and there are wonderful illustrations showing exactly where to fold, cut, etc. Additionally there are pictures of completed boats, some of which the author claims have been around for several seasons, so this is not a 'throw away project.' The author is very thorough in sharing his knowledge from what type of sealer to use (which is environmentally friendly like the rest of the project), to how to get into your boat without capsizing it.   

I searched on the internet for boat ideas which would be inexpensive and found a YouTube video at the website here: [...] I was very excited to see these boats skimming nicely along the water, one even had an electric motor.   

Great purchase, cannot wait for the weather to break so I can start building!

***** YOU! Build a cardboard boat, March 27, 2013

By   Warzdad   

Verified Purchase (What's this?) 

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)   

I was going to write this kind of book with help. No longer necessary. This is far better than I would do -- if I ever got around to it.  

No negatives. No constuctive criticism. Written for an engineering class by the professor. Good job for scope and purpose of the Course/book. Direct, simple, correct,interesting and practical.  

For boating enthuiasts it is effective for principles of physics., but could be expanded to include hull design. However, for that existing population it's more FUN to be creative and sail or sink. Visit "cardboard boat races" web sites for loads of info on cardboad boats. That,s where I got my reference to the book I bought from you. Make sense?

***** Really good book containing easy to follow instructions

By   Biber Boote Schweiz   

Verified Purchase (What's this?)

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)   

Really good book containing easy to follow instructions. 

The only critic: Why do most of the men shown on photos in the book NOT wear a Personal Floating Device (Life-West)? Are they really better swimmers than women? I wonder ...

David W. Friant says:  Good observation. The pictures that were taken without wearing PFDs were taken on a day when we did not have the with us. I recommend that everyone who paddles a cardboard boat always wear a PFD.

***** Put heart and soul into his design and book., November 3, 2013

By   S. Galley   

Verified Purchase (What's this?)   

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)   

Wow this guy really put his heart and soul into his design and book. Highly recommended. Was hoping to be able to use some of his experience in my own cardboard boat race, but found out that he uses high quality triple layer cardboard and drywall tape, which in itself will build a very high quality product. If you do not have limitations in your contest, you really could not build a better quality, straight forward designed and fabricated boat. Excellent design!

***** Excellent step by step instructions!!!, June 18, 2016

By   Diane Golon   

Verified Purchase (What's this?) 

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)   

The book was excellent!! It lead me step by step to build my own boat and I know nothing about engineering, cardboard or boating. My friends were impressed and I am taking the boat on its maiden voyage next weekend.

***** One of a kind and good book, January 28, 2014

By   Joe Chadwick   

Verified Purchase (What's this?)   

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)   

This is the only book on cardboard boats that I am aware of. It is well written, well documented, and the cardboard boats in the book are well designed, and easy to build. And they work and will keep working.

***** Great boat, September 13, 2012

By   T. Nunno   

Verified Purchase (What's this?) 

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback) 

When I was asked by my son to help him build a cardboard boat for a Labor Day race, I was hesitant. I bought this book and read it cover to cover, maybe 30 minutes. This book became my bible in building the boat. Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions. My son thinks I am the man....If you are considering building a cardboard boat, use this book, you will not be disappointed.

***** The Cardboard Boat Book, November 7, 2012

By   Duckman55   

Verified Purchase (What's this?)

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)   

This book is a must for anyone who wants to build a cardboard boat for pleasure or competition. It is very informative and the directions are easy to follow.

**** Cardboard boat, February 23, 2013

By   BF Kindle   

Verified Purchase (What's this?)   

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)   

Book has met expectations. While I had hoped there would be several boat designs, the variations to areas of the boat do give options. The descriptions and explanations are clear and in sufficient detail that anyone should be able to build a boat that will stand up to any flat-water location. I ranked it a four (4) because their is only one basic boat design.

David W. Friant says:  Correction, there are 2 different designs you can build with the book. Both designs are based on 1 structural component, the hull. Using the hull as the base there are actually 3 different designs that can be built. The third design was not included in the book. The third design incorporates a bow and stern that converge to a point. This design produces a longer boat by 2 feet.

***** Lots of Fun.

By   S. A.   

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)   

I Got the Cardboard boat book a few months ago. Built the boat with 6 year old son. We had a lot of fun building it. It attracted a lot of attention outside in the driveway, and a few times we ended up with a small party of neighbors hanging out, talking, helping, and having fun. It was Awesome. After waiting two months for a day without Snow or rain, I got it in the lake. Floats like a dream. We spent over two hours floating around and exploring the areas we cant get to by land. Not a hint of water damage afterwords. My son had plenty of room up front, and I was more than comfortable in back. The boat is very sturdy. Resists tipping more than a plastic Kayak too. So I give the book a thumbs up. It delivers a great product and a lot of fun on the way. The end result is cool, but its the getting there, the "building" that is the best. My son is very proud of our accomplishment.  

So I bet people are thinking, "Do I really need to buy the book, cant I just make one on my own?"..... Buy the book. This is a serious boat. It will work, and it will last a lifetime. I could not have done it without the book. You will understand how well engineered the plans are once you make it.

***** interesting idea, February 17, 2013

By   ron mingus   

Verified Purchase (What's this?)

This review is from: The Cardboard Boat Book (Paperback)

i never thought about building a cardboard boat. then i saw this book and had to have it. unusual, informative, i'm always looking for boat building information.great story.would recommend.